Prolific artists and persistent bird protectors were among the honorees at the 2015 Missoula Conservation Roundtable annual awards dinner earlier this month.

University of Montana environmental studies professor Neva Hassanein received the group’s Don Aldrich award for her work creating the Sustainable Food and Farming program on campus.

The effort helped underpin UM’s Farm to College purchases of local food, as well as gave a boost to area farmers markets and co-ops.

The Arnold Bolle award went to UM biology professor Erick Greene, whose work on osprey behavior has drawn thousands of fans to watch the birds on live-feed video cameras. He has also done groundbreaking work on the kinds of toxins osprey and other raptors absorb from man-made contaminants in Montana’s river systems.

The Burk-Brandborg award was presented to Jan and Harold Hoem for their citizen activism that created the Montana Elders for a Livable Tomorrow and produced the film “Coal Road to China” about climate change and coal consumption in the Pacific Northwest.

The Roundtable also gave out one of its rare Lifetime Conservation Awards to Monte Dolack and Mary Beth Percival for their combined legacy of depicting Montana’s landscapes in fine art.

The husband and wife team have contributed artworks in support of the Five Valleys Land Trust Mount Jumbo campaign, Trout Unlimited, the Clark Fork Coalition and Rock Creek Trust, among many others. The Lifetime Conservation award has only been presented six times since 2001.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.