STEVENSVILLE - The Stevensville School District Board of Trustees received two major awards at this year's meeting of the Montana Conference of Educational Leaders in Great Falls last week.

The first award was the Montana Schools Group Insurance Authority District of the Year Award. The award is given to one school district in the state for their efforts and dedication to workplace safety.

The second award was the Montana Association of School Superintendents School Board of the Year Award.

"This prestigious award is in recognition of the dedicated and ethical service provided to the students by the school board," said Stevensville School District superintendent Kent Kultgen. "It is the highest award given to a school board in Montana. Both of these awards are not only a testament to the school, but also to our very supportive community."

The awards were presented before an audience of more than 700 school administrators, school board trustees and school business officials.

The Stevensville School Board's year was highlighted by completion of a $10 million facility that will reshape the landscape of education in the community for generations to come, according to Kultgen.

"The integrity and dedication of the board was shown with their ability to continue to improve academics during the construction period," said Darrell Rud, executive director of the school superintendents' group. "Through their commitment and willingness to work as a team, they partnered with all stakeholders to ensure that the education of students would not suffer due to the construction project. Furthermore, the academic standards have been raised and supported. Through the adoption of a new K-12 math curriculum in the spring of 2011, the implementation of an Advisory Program and a steadfast commitment to Board education through policy revision, the trustees have taken the Stevensville School District to another level."

The award is based on board policy, facilities/grounds (learning and teaching environments), programs (educational, innovative, etc.), school board training (state and national), board and administrative collaboration, personnel (professional development), community involvement and other examples of board excellence.

The Stevensville School Board members include: chairwoman Cathi Cook, vice chairman Kirk Thompson, trustees Wayne Stanford, Gary Burgett, Sheila Schiwal, Greg Trangmoe, Kevin Beller, Tim Schrieber, along with superintendent Kent Kultgen.

Reach reporter David Erickson at 363-3300 or


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.