Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes release unofficial primary election results

2009-10-26T12:40:00Z Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes release unofficial primary election resultsBy VINCE DEVLIN of the Missoulian
October 26, 2009 12:40 pm  • 

PABLO - With 367 absentee and contested primary ballots yet to be counted, incumbents on the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribal Council all have unofficial leads in the races to have their names placed on the Dec. 12 general election ballot.

The bigger question seems to be who they will face. Official results will not be available until Wednesday.

The top two vote-getters in each district advance to the general election.

The closest races are in the St. Ignatius, Arlee and Elmo districts.

In St. Ignatius, Patty Stevens and Ron Trahan have mounted the most serious challenge to an incumbent. Council member Joe Durglo has 420 votes to lead Stevens (334) and Trahan (313). Gary M. Stevens has 110 votes.

In Arlee, council member Jim Malatare holds a 366-208 lead over his nearest challenger, James "Bing" Matt. Bryan Brazill is next at 190, followed by Louise E. Stasso at 156, Trina Fyant Felsman at 151, Carl M. Dupuis with 79 and Francis L. Pierre with 25.

In Elmo, incumbent Reuben Mathias has 467 votes. William "Willie" Burke and Art Caye are in a tight race to see which of them will face off against Mathias. Burke leads Caye 290-248, and Lois Friedlander has 164.

Carole Depoe Lankford has a 590-330 lead over Gene Sorrell in the Ronan District, with none of five other challengers yet cracking the 100-vote total.

Incumbent Steve Lozar, who represents the Polson District, has the most primary votes by far. His 751 is outpacing Naida R. Lefthand (251) and Jimmy Ray O'Neill (172).

While council members represent distinct districts, all CSKT members vote for all five races.

Wednesday's final and official results will be posted at two Web sites, and

Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Missoulian Civil Dialogue Policy

Civil Dialogue Policy for Commenting on

We provide this community forum for readers to exchange ideas and opinions on the news of the day. Passionate views, pointed criticism and critical thinking are welcome. Comments can only be submitted by registered users. By posting comments on our site, you are agreeing to the following terms:

Commentary and photos submitted to the Missoulian ( may be published or distributed in print, electronically or other forms. Opinions expressed in's comments reflect the opinions of the author, and are not necessarily the opinions of the Missoulian or its parent company. See the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy for more information.

Our guidelines prohibit the solicitation of products or services, the impersonation of another site user, threatening or harassing postings and the use of vulgar, abusive, obscene or sexually oriented language, defamatory or illegal material. You may not post content that degrades others on the basis of gender, race, class, ethnicity, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, disability or other classification. It's fine to criticize ideas, but ad hominem attacks on other site users are prohibited. Users who violate those standards may lose their privileges on

You may not post copyrighted material from another publication. (Link to it instead, using a headline or very brief excerpt.)

No short policy such as this can spell out all possible instances of material or behavior that we might deem to be a violation of our publishing standards, and we reserve the right to remove any material posted to the site.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Search our events calendar