Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Missouri Breaks

The national monument on Montana's Upper Missouri River Breaks covers about 377,346 acres of federal land, including the Breaks country north of the river.

LARRY MAYER, Gazette Staff

An executive order signed last month by President Donald Trump directs Interior Secretary Ryan Zinke to review 27 national monuments established or expanded by three other presidents since 1996. A list of the monuments, their location and year of their creation and expanded, as released by the Interior Department:


Basin and Range National Monument, Nevada, 2015.

Bears Ears National Monument, Utah, 2016.

Berryessa Snow Mountain, California, 2015.

Canyons of the Ancients National Monument, Colorado, 2000

Carrizo Plain National Monument, California, 2001.

Cascade Siskiyou, Oregon, established 2000, expanded 2017.

Craters of the Moon, Idaho, established 1924, expanded 2000

Giant Sequoia National Monument, California, 2000.

Gold Butte National Monument, Nevada, 2016.

Grand Canyon-Parashant National Monument, Arizona, 2000.

Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument, Utah, 1996.

Hanford Reach National Monument, Washington, 2000.

Ironwood Forest National Monument, Arizona, 2000.

Katahdin Wood and Waters, Maine, 2016

Mojave Trails National Monument, California, 2016.

Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks National Monument, New Mexico, 2014.

Rio Grande del Norte National Monument, New Mexico, 2013

Sand to Snow National Monument, California, 2016.

San Gabriel Mountains, California, 2014

Sonoran Desert National Monument, Arizona, 2001.

Upper Missouri River Breaks National Monument, Montana, 2001.

Vermilion Cliffs National Monument, Arizona, 2000.



Marianas Trench Marine National Monument, Pacific Ocean, 2009.

Northeast Canyons & Seamounts Marine National Monument, off the coast of New England, 2016.

Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument, Pacific Ocean, established 2009, expanded 2014.

Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument, Pacific Ocean, established 2006, expanded 2016.

Rose Atoll Marine National Monument, Pacific Ocean, 2009.

Source: Interior Department

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.