Try 1 month for 99¢

Four Ravalli County Republican incumbents in contested primary races won by large margins on Tuesday night.

Two Republican county commission races had contested primaries, as well as two House district seats in the Bitterroot. There were no contested races for Democratic runners in Ravalli County's 2008 primary.

In November's general election, there will be six contested races.

All Republican incumbents won by healthy margins.

Overall, 48 percent of Ravalli County's registered voters cast ballots during the primary. Approximately 13,431 out of 27,862 registered voters weighed in on measures and races in the Bitterroot Valley.

About 46 percent of registered Republican voters cast ballots, while 51 percent of Democrats voted.

In the 2006 general election, 18,663 folks voted. During the 2007 Ravalli County special general election (the election was for three commission seats), fewer than than 9,500 voters cast ballots.

For Republican voters, there were a number of races that were important in the primary.

In the Ravalli County commissioner race for District 2, the Stevensville area, incumbent Greg Chilcott received 4,170 votes, compared to fellow Republican "Lady" Jake Weitzel's 1,379 votes.

The sole Democrat in that race, John Meakin, landed 4,721.

In the District 3 commission race, the Corvallis/Victor areas, Republican James Iman took the race, beating two other candidates vying for the seat.

Iman secured 2,740 votes. Chuck Stranahan followed closely with 1,565 votes. Republican Dave Dedmon landed 1,073.

There was one Democrat in the District 3 race, Roger DeHaan. He received 4,722 votes.

Two House District races also featured contested Republican races.

Five state seats are up for grabs, four which will be contested in the general election.

In House District 87, the Darby area, incumbent Ron Stoker took the race from Republican Julian "Al" Milton. Stoker received 1,389, Milton 403.

One Democrat will face Stoker, Peter Rosten, who received 1,086 votes.

Stoker is seeking his fourth and final consecutive term in the state House of Representatives.

In House District 89, the Victor area, incumbent Gary MacLaren took the race, beating two other Republicans, Jeff Burrows and Russell Vogel. MacLaren received 1,302 votes. Vogel followed with 164, and Burrows 136.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.