Subscribe for 17¢ / day
Phoebe Knapp

Billings artist Phoebe Knapp is installing new work at the Missoula Art Park downtown next week. Seen above is "The Light Within," one of her previous public art projects.

A cheat sheet for some of the arts and culture happenings around Missoula in the coming week.

Art

The Missoula Art Park will install new works for its second season this week.

Billings sculptor Phoebe Knapp is bringing new and existing wood and metal sculptures as the sole featured artist at the park, located on East Pine Street between the Missoula Art Museum and Adventure Cycling.

The opening reception, RSVP required, is on Wednesday, May 23, from 5-7 p.m. Knappe will be in attendance, and the MAM will present its annual award to Kevin Gordon for his work helping bring the park to fruition.

For his latest work, "Two-Headed Arrow/The Tar Sands Project," celebrated artist Corky Clairmont spent several years on a performance/print project documenting his journey to the tar sands in Alberta, spanning 900 miles.

Clairmont will give viewers his insights into the resulting MAM exhibition with a gallery talk at 2 p.m. Saturday, May 19, at the MAM, 225 N. Pattee St. Admission is free.

Books and readings

The end of May might be a good time to start compiling your list of summer reading. If you need suggestions, head to one of the readings by local authors in the coming week.

Peter Stark's background as a historian and an outdoors writer converge in his newest book, "Young Washington: How Wilderness and War Forged America's Founding Father."

Stark will hold a reading and signing at 7 p.m. Monday, May 21, at Fact & Fiction, 220 N. Higgins Ave.

If you're in a darker frame of mind, "Come West and See," the debut story collection by Maxim Loskutoff might be for you. Loskutoff, who grew up in Missoula, studied for his MFA at New York University and counts David Foster Wallace among his mentors. According to his publisher, W.W. Norton, the interlinked stories, take place "in an isolated region of Idaho, Montana, and eastern Oregon known as the Redoubt, an armed occupation of a wildlife refuge is escalating into civil war."

L.A. Weekly recommended the book for fans of Cormac McCarthy and Russell Banks, saying "the language is crisp and often thrilling in its plainspoken eloquence."

Loskutoff will have a reading and signing at 7 p.m. Tuesday, May 22, at Fact & Fiction, 220 N. Higgins Ave.

Joyce Hocker, a professional psychologist, examines grief and loss within her family in her memoir, "The Trail to Tincup: Love Stories at Live's End." See the review on E3 for more information.

Hocker will have a reading and signing at 7 p.m. Thursday, May 24, at Fact & Fiction, 220 N. Higgins Ave.

​Missoula-based poet ​​Lisa ​​Kundrat explores the natural world in her chapbook "Speak, Cairn," 1 p.m., Shakespeare & Co., 103 S. Third St. W. 549-9010, shakespeareandco.com. ​Kundrat will have a reading at 1 p.m. Saturday, May 19, at Shakespeare & Co., 103 S. Third St. W.

Theater

Missoula's independent theater troupe BetweenTheLines will close out its second season this weekend with another contemporary work, "4000 Miles." Amy Herzog's play, which premiered in 2011, won an Obie Award for best new play. In her comedic drama, a 21-year-old idealist on a cross-country bicycle trip ends up staying with his grandmother in New York, where they re-connect and cope with grieving in vastly different stages of life. The final performances are Friday- Sunday, May 18-20, at 7:30 p.m. There's an additional 2 p.m. matinee on Sunday, May 20. Tickets are $20 general, $16 for seniors 65 and up and $14 for students.

Movies

Each February, the Big Sky Documentary Film Festival brings new and innovative documentaries to Missoula. Through its Big Sky Film Series, it presents free screenings of like-minded movies throughout the year.

On Wednesday, its bringing the Sundance-approved documentary "Hal." Director Amy Scott gives viewers a look into the life of filmmaker Hal Ashby, who created classics like "Harold and Maude," "Shampoo," and "Being There."

The film will screen at 7 p.m. Tuesday, May 22, at the MCT Center for the Performing Arts. Admission is free.

0
0
0
0
0
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Arts & Entertainment Reporter

Entertainment editor for the Missoulian.