Associated Press Chairman of The Freedom Forum presents award to Marquand

MISSOULA (AP) - Missoula Broadcaster Ian Marquand received the 2000 Montana Free Press Award Friday.

The award was presented by Charles L. Overby, chairman and CEO of The Freedom Forum, during the University of Montana School of Journalism's Dean Stone Night.

Marquand is special-projects director for the Montana Television Network and KPAX-TV in Missoula.

The award, first presented in 1994, is sponsored by the university's schools of journalism and law.

Marquand is freedom of information chairman for the national Society of Professional Journalists and writes a column for SPJ's Quill magazine. He is SPJ's Project Sunshine chairman for Montana and president of SPJ's Montana Pro Chapter.

Marquand is also vice chairman of the Montana Freedom of Information Hotline and edits its newsletter. The hotline provides free advice from lawyers to Montana journalists and others who are denied access to government records, public meetings and the courts.

In comments before Overby's presentation, Montana Associated Press Bureau Chief John Kuglin said Marquand "has given of himself very unselfishly over the years in working on difficult FOI issues in Montana, including access to electronic records and to driver license information. No one is more deserving of this award."

The Freedom Forum works to protect free press and free speech around the world.

Overby was guest speaker at the Dean Stone banquet, where more than $70,000 in scholarships were awarded to journalism students.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.