Subscribe for 17¢ / day

HELENA - Montana's penalties for sales of alcoholic beverages by bars, casinos and stores to minors are often weaker than those in nearby states, a Revenue Department survey shows.

Here is a summary compiled by the state agency:

  • Montana: $250 for first violation; $1,000 for second; $1,500 for third; and license revocation for fourth.

For the other states, the penalties will be listed in the same order for the first through fourth violation.

  • Idaho: $1,000; 30-day license suspension; six-month suspension; revocation.
  • Oregon: $1,650 or 10-day license suspension; $4,950 or 30-day suspension; 30-day suspension; revocation.
  • North Dakota: Up to a five-day suspension; for second violations within a year, up to at least 15-day suspension; for a third violation in a year, up to a year license suspension or revocation; fourth violation, revocation.
  • South Dakota: $1,000; $2,000; suspension; revocation. The fines that can be cut in half if the violator is trained.
  • Utah: $1,200; $1,000 to $9,000, 10-90 day suspension or both; up to revocation; revocation.
  • Washington: $500; seven-day suspension; 30-day suspension; license cancellation or revocation.
  • Wyoming: Varies by government. Penalties up to $1,000, suspension or revocation of license, at commissioner's discretion.

Here is a summary of the current penalty schedules for sales to intoxicated people for the first through the four violations.

  • Montana: $250; $1,000; $1,500; revocation.
  • Idaho: $1,000; 30-day suspension; six-month suspension; revocation.
  • Oregon: $1,650 or 10-day suspension; $4,950 or 30-day suspension; 30-day suspension; revocation.
  • North Dakota: Up to five-day suspension; for second violations within a year, up to at least 15-day suspension; for a third violation in a year, up to a year license suspension or revocation; fourth violation, revocation.
  • South Dakota: No standards.
  • Utah: $1,000 to $25,000, up to revocation.
  • Washington: $500; $2,500; $5,000; revocation.
  • Wyoming: Varies by government. Penalties up to $1,000, with suspension and revocation at commissioner's discretion.

Missoulian State Bureau reporter Charles S. Johnson can be reached at (406) 447-4066 or at chuck.johnson@lee.net.

 

0
0
0
0
0
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.