Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Thursday is deadline to file for school board

Thursday is deadline to file for school board


Thursday is the deadline for submitting candidate nomination forms for open school board seats throughout Missoula County.

In Missoula County Public Schools, incumbent high school District B Trustee Jim Sadler has submitted his nomination petition for the Target Range and Bonner elementary districts. Newcomer Rick Johns has filed for high school District C, which represents the Hellgate Elementary District territory now overseen by Trustee Diane Beck. Nancy Pickhardt is so far the only filer for the two open elementary district seats currently held by Chairwoman Jenda Hemphill and Carol Bellin.

Petition forms are available at the MCPS Business Building, 915 South Ave. W. Elementary district candidates must gather signatures from 20 registered voters to be nominated. High school district candidates need five signatures.

Applications can be returned to the Business Building by 4 p.m. Thursday or delivered directly to the Missoula County Elections Office on the second floor of the County Courthouse Annex by 5 p.m. The election is May 2.

Other area races and their incumbents include:

Hellgate Elementary School District 4: Chairman Mike Munsey and Trustee Perry Thomas are coming to the end of three-year terms.

Lolo Elementary District 7: Vice Chairman Ray Nickless and Trustee Jeff Crews are completing three-year terms.

Potomac Elementary District 11: Trustee Ray Woodside is completing a three-year term.

Bonner Elementary District 14: Trustees Daniel Taylorand and Michele A Mitchell are completing three-year terms.

Woodman Elementary District 18: Chairman Gayland Enockson is completing a three-year term.

DeSmet Elementary District 20: Chairwoman Nicole Bronec is completing a three-year term.

Target Range Elementary District 23: Chairman Jeff Wilson and Trustee Betty Jo Johnson are completing three-year terms.

Sunset Elementary District 30: Trustee Dennis Tallon is completing a three-year term.

Clinton Elementary District 32: Chairman Jon Roske and Trustee Betty Tucker are completing three-year terms.

Swan Valley Elementary District 33: Trustees Chris Barnes and Jeffrey Hainline are completing three-year terms.

Seeley Lake Elementary District 34: Chairman Mark Williams is completing a three-year term.

Frenchtown Elementary District 40: Trustees Leland M. Maxted and Raymond C. Winn are completing three-year terms.

Alberton Joint District 2: Chairwoman Sharon Takbot is completing a three-year term.

Florence-Carlton Joint District 15-6: Trustee Renee Nichols is completing a three-year term.

Arlee Joint District 8: Vice Chairwoman Shawna O'Neill is completing a three-year term.

Reporter Rob Chaney can be reached at 523-5382 or at

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News