Subscribe for 17¢ / day
The Montana State Capitol in Helena, Mont.

The Montana State Capitol in Helena, Mont.

Western Montanans are gearing up to run for the Legislature in 2018, as all House seats and half of the Senate seats are open.

A few new names appeared on the first day of filing, including longtime Missoula City Council representative Marilyn Marler, who is running for the House, alongside Thomas Winter, another Missoula local who unsuccessfully ran for City Council in 2017.

Jon Van Dyke, who filed for Missoula's HD 89 had a busy day, as he was the first to file for the seat, before withdrawing his application and posting on Facebook he'd support Patrick Weasel Head, who filed an hour after him. But by late afternoon, the post was off Van Dyke's page and he'd recommitted to the race against Weasel Head and Katie Sullivan.

Only eight incumbents had filed, out of the 48 western Montana seats open. Senator Cynthia Wolken, D-Missoula, is stepping down to take a new job, while other term-limited representatives like Bryce Bennett, D-Missoula, and Mike Cuffe, R-Eureka, are jumping to the Senate for another shot.

Filing closes March 5. Below are those who filed Thursday:


G-Green Party


Senate Districts:

1 — Mike Cuffe, R-Eureka

4 — Mark Blasdel, R-Kalispell*

5 — Jennifer Allen, D-Kalispell

48 — Nate McConnell, D-Missoula

49 — Diane Sands, D-Missoula*

50 — Bryce Bennett, D-Missoula

House Districts:

 Steve Gunderson, R-Libby*

3 — Zac Perry, D-Hungry Horse*

4 — Matt Regier, R-Kalispell*

       Kwen Shirley, D-Kalispell

5 — Dave Fern, D-Whitefish

6 — Carl Glimm, R-Kila*

7 — Frank Garner, R-Kalispell*

8 — John Fuller, R-Kalispell

9 — Warren Illi, R-Kalispell

10 — Mark Noland, R-Bigfork*

11 — Derek Skees, R-Kalispell*

12 — Greg Hertz, R-Polson*

14 — Denley Loge, R-St. Regis*

         Diane Magone, D-Superior

15 — Adrien Owen Wagner, G-Heart Butte

         Marvin Weatherwax Jr., D-Browning

86 — David Bedey, R-Hamilton 

         Jacob DeVries, R-Hamilton

87 — Nancy Ballance, R-Hamilton*

88 — Evan Anderson, I-Stevensville

         Margaret Gorski, D-Stevensville

         Sharon Greef, R-Florence

89 — Katie Sullivan, D-Missoula

         Patrick Weasel Head, D-Missoula

         Jon Van Dyke, D-Missoula

90 — Marilyn Marler, D-Missoula

91 — Nancy de Pastino, D-Missoula

         Connie Keogh, D-Misssoula

92 — Mike Hopkins, R-Missoula

         Lee Bridges, D-East Missoula

94 — Kimberly Dudik, D-Missoula*

95 — Shane Morigeau, D-Missoula*

96 — Thomas Winter, D-Missoula

98 — Willis Curdy, D-Missoula*

99 — Marilyn Ryan, D-Missoula*

100 — Andrea Olsen, D-Missoula

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

City, County Government Reporter

Government reporter for the Missoulian.