Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Lolo, DeSmet school districts seek general fund levies
Lolo, DeSmet

Lolo, DeSmet school districts seek general fund levies

  • Updated
  • 0
092512 lolo school

Students walk around the Lolo School grounds in September 2012.

Two Missoula-area school districts are asking voters for general fund levies, while a third is asking for a bond in the May 5 election.

Lolo School District is requesting $90,000 to support its general fund, or for a $32.16-a-year tax increase for a home with a market value of $200,000.

DeSmet School District also is asking voters for a levy to support its general fund.

The proposed $25,934.41 levy would cost a homeowner an additional $12.62 a year in taxes on a home with a market value of $200,000.

Meanwhile, Bonner School District is putting a $346,000 bond measure before voters.

Money from the bond would be used to expand the cafeteria and move the main offices to face the school's entrance to improve security. If voters approve the bond, work would take place over the summer.

A successful bond measure would mean an additional $5.25 a year for the owner of a home with a market value of $100,000, or $10.51 more a year for someone who owns a $200,000 home, over the bond’s 15-year term.


Also appearing on ballots for the May election will be several contested races for school boards, including:

• Missoula Elementary/High School District No. 1 (two three-year seats): Michael J. Smith, Grace McNamee Decker, John Fletcher.

• Missoula High School District B (one three-year term): James H. Sadler, Korbin Bragstad, Lisa Triepke.

• Target Range School District No. 23 (two three-year terms): Sharon Sterbis, Nathan Lucke, Evan Rosenberg.

• Target Range School District No. 23 (one one-year term): Gary Botchek, Shawn Skinner, Elizabeth Moore.

• Lolo School District No. 7 (one one-year term): Alex Beal, Steve Symington.

• Bonner School District No. 14 (two three-year terms): Nathan Lopuch, Kerrie A. Ghenie, Laurie Gendrow.

• DeSmet School District No. 20 (two three-year terms): Carolyn Rossell, Marie Michels, Dani Lamberton.

For a full list of candidates and election information, go to

Ballots will be mailed April 20.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News