Public invited to UM birthday celebrationPosted on Feb. 9

Public invited to UM birthday celebrationPosted on Feb. 9


MISSOULA - The University of Montana will celebrate its 116th birthday with a noon-hour party and the Charter Day awards ceremony and reception on Thursday.

The birthday festivities take place each year to honor the university. All events are free and open to the public.

The birthday party will take place in the University Center Atrium while the Charter Day awards ceremony will begin at 5 p.m. in the University Center Ballroom and will recognize exemplary campus and community members.

As part of Charter Day events, L. James Dempsey will present the 12th Annual Native American Lecture entitled "Overview of Blackfoot War Art and the Issue of Ownership and Reproducing It" at 7:30 p.m. in Gallagher Business Building Room 106.

The lecture will be hosted by UM's O'Connor Center for the Rocky Mountain West.

Missoula Mayor John Engen will attend the Charter Day awards ceremony to present an official proclamation of University of Montana Day. A reception will follow the ceremony.

UM provost Royce Engstrom will preside over the presentation of the following 2009 Charter Day awards:

- Montana Alumni Award: William Jones, who has practiced law at the Missoula firm Garlington, Lohn & Robinson for 50 years. Jones, who has earned much recognition in the last half-century as a trial lawyer, was one of 16 who graduated from UM's law school in 1959.

- ASUM Student Service Award: Jessie Davie, ASUM sustainability coordinator. Davie is pursuing a master's degree in environmental studies and was the main author of UM's first-ever Greenhouse Gas Inventory.

- Neil S. Bucklew Presidential Service Award: James and Joy Mariska of Billings. The Mariskas have been actively involved in a variety of UM and community organizations that better the lives of Montanans. James is a UM business alumnus.

- George M. Dennison Presidential Faculty Award for Distinguished Accomplishment: Regents Professor Jakki Mohr, UM School of Business Administration. Mohr was named Montana's first woman Regents Professor at a ceremony held at UM in November 2008.

- George M. Dennison Presidential Staff Award for Distinguished Accomplishment: Jodi Johnson Moreau, off-campus events coordinator, UM Office of Alumni Relations. Moreau has worked at UM for 15 years and joined the alumni office staff in 2000. Since then she has coordinated more than 50 tailgates. She also coordinates alumni relation's successful House of Delegates.

- Montana Faculty Service Award: Professor Jean Luckowski, UM School of Education. Luckowski, who joined the education school faculty in 1983, has served on and chaired several University committees and the Faculty Senate, as well as representing UM throughout Montana and the nation.

- Robert T. Pantzer Presidential Humanitarian Award: Associate Professor Phil Condon, UM Environmental Studies Program. Condon, who received a master's in fine arts, creative writing, from UM, works to provide forums for environmental and nature writers and opportunities for students to write, read, present and publish in the field.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News