Try 1 month for 99¢
Montana Outdoor Hall of Fame

The Montana Outdoor Hall of Fame has announced 16 new inductees for 2018 from 39 candidates nominated by the public.

“It is a remarkable list of men and women whose accomplishments span a lifetime of keeping watch over Montana’s natural wonders,” said Bruce Whittenberg, director of the Montana Historical Society and member of MOHF.

The new class of Montana Outdoor Hall of Famers – the third since 2014 – will be honored during an induction ceremony and banquet on Dec. 1 at the Marriott Colonial Hotel in Helena.

This year’s honorees are:

● Charles Allard–Ravalli and Michel Pablo–Pablo. For bison conservation;

● Jack Atcheson, Sr.–Butte. For public access advocacy;

● Arnold and Helen Bolle–Missoula. For forestry education and wilderness advocacy;

● Dale Burk–Stevensville. For environmental journalism;

● Smoke Elser–Missoula. For wilderness outfitting and advocacy;

● George Grant–Butte. For fly-fishing innovations and Big Hole River conservation;

● Stan Meyer–Great Falls. For fish, wildlife and land conservation;

● Len Sargent and Sandy Sargent–Cinnabar Basin. For environmental philanthropy;

● P.D. Skaar–Bozeman. For stewardship and study of native birds;

● Gail Small–Lame Deer. For environmental protection in Indian Country;

● Phil Tawney and Robin Tawney-Nichols–Missoula. For environmental advocacy;

● Jack Ward Thomas–Missoula. For establishing ecosystem management priorities at the U.S. Forest Service.

The MHOF was created to honor individuals, both living and posthumously, who made lasting contributions to the restoration and conservation of Montana’s wildlife and wild places. The awards also seek to capture the stories of those enshrined to enhance public awareness of Montana’s conservation history.

MOHF inductees are archived at the Montana Historical Society in Helena.

For more information and to purchase tickets for the Dec. 1 banquet, visit or contact Ariel Rademaker at or Mitch King at 406-897-2570.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.