People in Education
A display of antique wedding gowns at the Fort Missoula Museum was the culmination of Heather Faherty's project on wedding traditions. The exhibit, which received rave reviews from museum visitors, was up from February through April. It featured dresses and accessories which Faherty researched, located then set up.
Photo courtesy of Heather Faherty

University of Montana

Jim Wilkson received seventh place and $500 as one of 10 runners-up in the spot news writing competition sponsored by the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

Four University of Montana students from Missoula put their academics to work in spring-semester internships offered through UM's Center for Work-Based Learning. Rye S. Bolinger, a senior majoring in social work, was an assistant to the director of Student Assault Recovery Services at the Curry Health Center. Jake Booher, a senior in business, worked as race-season coordinator in the marketing department at Clutch Masters Inc. in Missoula. Jen Krenz, a senior majoring in biology, organized events to raise public awareness about environmental issues for the Montana Public Interest Research Group. James Rolle, a senior biology major, worked as an environmental technician for West Central Environmental Consultants in Missoula.

The following were awarded degrees at commencement exercises at Western Montana College on May 5: Alberton - Nichole Sloan. Arlee - Kassandra Murphy and Jason Smith. Florence - Charles Hanson and Kevin Cornish. Frenchtown - Molly DiGiando and James Rondeau. Hamilton - Janis Doyle. Kalispell - Jay Bradenburg-Nau and Levi Wilner. Kila - Jordan Harmon. Libby - Michael Tatum and Lee Graham. Lolo - Dorothy Marceau. Missoula - Jonette Ross, Julie Simpson, Janelle Handlos, Joshua Laslovich, Casey O'Keefe, C. Susan Caton, Christine Domitrovich, Mary Giuliani, Lauralea Sanks, Gail Scoles. Pablo - Jesse Janssen. Plains - Jacki Bauman and Eric Meredith. Polson - Jody Jones, Keryl Lozar. Ronan - Barney Finley, Katherine Peterson, John Gehring. St. Ignatius - Heather Currie. Seeley Lake - Brittnie Hebnes, Jeremy Hebens. Stevensville - Jamie Pfau, John Clark, John Lowell, Christa Pfau, Amanda Sutherlin. Troy - Leslie Dove. Turah - Shannon Koefelda. Victor - Jeremy Ogilvie, Sean Kittel. Whitefish - Katherine Helgeson, Cory Wellington.

Dean's lists

Idaho State University (Pocatello) - Kelly L. Elliot, Lolo.


Kimberly J. Malloy has received an Outstanding Scholarship Achievement Award in Psychology at the College of Arts and Sciences at Montana State University-Bozeman. Brooke C. Kuhl of Superior received an Outstanding Achievement Award in Management at MSU's College of Business.

Scholarship recipients

Eleanor Challen, Missoula, is the recipient of the Missoula Business and Professional Women's continuing education scholarship. Challen received the scholarship for her outstanding achievement, community service and continuing education.

Cora Radas, Missoula, has been awarded the National Business and Professional Women/USA Foundation continuing education scholarship. Radas will graduate with an applied associate science degree as a dental assistant from the Salish Kootenai College in Pablo in June.

Montana State University (Bozeman): Bigfork - Lara Kapelanczyk, Kathryn Vincent; Columbia Falls - Gerald Busby, Jacob Forke; Corvallis - Thaddeus Lesnik, Casey Clark; Darby - Sushil Shenoy, Lorianne Burhop; Deer Lodge - Shawn Steber; Drummond - Kelsey Corlett, Catherine Kroll; Eureka - Joshua Dierman, Cole Bentley; Florence - Holly Richards, Carrie Heckerman; Frenchtown - Jenna Berkram; Hamilton - Jonathan Favara, Maya Gurgiolo Joseph Shepard; Kalispell - Matthew Fregerio, Jamie Pugh, Anthony Cox, Raquel DeBlauw, Aaron Klug, Lynmarie Laurens, Kenneth Beck, Ture Carlson, Jordan Evans, Jacob Lucas, Ian Romain; Missoula - Brooke Rennick, Casey Wornath, Bradley Grutsch, Brenden Miles, Catherine Priddy, Luke VanAlstine, Brett Bowser, David Brewer, Benjamin Hennes, Christopher Hodge, Travis Roy, Kyle Stadler, Scott Vogel, James Winters; Polson - Luke Rollins-Bradshaw, Kevin O'Brien; Ronan - Kit Edington; St. Ignatius - Timothy Callahan; Troy - Natasha Blata, Alicia Clark; Whitefish - Lisa Dickman.

Elizabeth LaBonty, Missoula, received the Chris and Sarah Raun Memorial Scholarship at the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources' (Lincoln, Neb.) annual Animal Science/Block and Bridle Club spring banquet.

Other schools

Area students attending Carroll College (Helena) recently were honored for academic excellence, contributions to the community and leadership. The following students from western Montana and the honors they received follow: Ashley C. Wyatt, Deer Lodge, Volleyball Academic All-Conference; Jacob T. Slingsby, Florence, Football Academic All-Conference; Joseph C. Chiovaro, Frenchtown, Manion Scholars Award; Jessica L. Bartel, Hamilton, Forensics: Oscar A. Provost Memorial Oratory Award, Forensics Team Member; Aaron K. Engebretson, Kalispell, Forensics: Monsignor R. Vincent Kavanagh Memorial Debate Award, Forensics Team Member; Cassie L. Dezort, Kalispell, Forensics Team Member; Kristen P. Fausey, Kalispell, Forensics Team Member; Marye E. Wozniak, Lolo, Class of 2001 Honors Graduate, Class of 2001 Honors Scholar, Manion Scholar Award; Erica L. Gilliland, Missoula, Women's Basketball Academic All-Conference; Erin R. Priddy, Missoula, National Honor Society for students of Catholic colleges and universities: Delta Epsilon Sigma; Jennifer L. Driscoll, Missoula, Women's Basketball Academic All-Conference; Michael H. O'Brien, Missoula, International Honor Society in Philosophy: Phi Sigma Tau; Rick Hyland, Missoula, Student Teaching Award; Scott H. Davis, Missoula, National Honor Society for students of Catholic colleges and universities: Delta Epsilon Sigma; Steven M. Strothman, Missoula, National Honor Society in Communication: Lambda Pi Eta; Carole L. Seli, Plains, National Honor Society in Psychology: Psi Chi; Mary E. Fischer, Polson, National Honor Society for students of Catholic colleges and universities: Delta Epsilon Sigma; Shawn V. Dailey, Polson, International Honor Society in Sociology: Alpha Kappa Delta; Joel T. Onsager, Ronan, Football Academic All-Conference; Shannon K. O'Brien, Swan Lake, Mathematics, Engineering, Physics, and Computer Science Achievement Award; Robert A. Schaefer, Victor, International Honor Society in Sociology: Alpha Kappa Delta; Genevieve M. Priebe, Whitefish, Class of 2001 Honors Graduate, Class for 2001 Honors Scholar, National Honor Society in Communication: Lambda Pi Eta.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.