Try 1 month for 99¢

The University of Montana rodeo team qualified four contestants for next month's College National Finals Rodeo as the Big Sky region schedule wrapped up Sunday at the Missoula County Fairgrounds.

Montana will send Trevor Lytle and Sam Levine in team roping, Levine in calf roping, Luke Gee in bull riding, and Jessica Picchietti in goat tying. All finished first in their events over the course of the 10-rodeo regular season.

The CNFR is June 13-19 in Casper, Wyo.

The Dawson Community College men and the Montana-Western women took the team titles at UM's rodeo, which concluded Sunday morning. The UM rodeo was voted the Big Sky rodeo of the year, said UM coach Kevin Nordahl, adding that much of the credit should go to contractor JS Rodeo out of Vaughn.

Levine placed third in calf roping in UM's rodeo with a time of 23.1 seconds on two head. Brett Heggie of Western won at 19.7.

Picchietti was second in goat tying at 19.4 seconds. Kate Sharon of Montana State won with a time of 18.2.

UM's Libby Taylor placed third in barrel racing with a time of 36.04 seconds. Annie Ouellette of Montana Tech won at 35.95.

UM rodeo

Men's teams - Dawson Community College 690, Montana State 660.

Women's teams - Montana-Western 495, Montana State 255.

Bareback - 1, Colin Adams, Dawson CC, 145 on two head; 2, Gavin Derose, Dawson, 134; 3, (tie) Chase Redfield, UM-W, Tucker Zingg, UM-W, and Jordon Gill, Northwest College, all 120.

Tie-down roping- 1, Brett Heggie, UM-W, 19.7; 2, Ben Arye, Dawson, 22.3; 3, Sam Levine, UM, 23.1; 4, Zanen Pitts, UM-W, 24.7.

Breakaway roping - 1, Megan Crist, UM-W, 7.4; 2, Sallie Phillips, Northwest, 7.7; 3, Bailee Thompson, UM-W, 8.1; 4, Hannah Sharon, UM-W, 8.7.

Saddle bronc - 1, Ace Mills, UM-W, 60; 2, Jake Halmes, MSU, 58.

Steer wrestling - 1, Tyler Erickson, MSU, 9.0; 2, Wyatt Smith, UM-W, 12.1; 3, Taylor Nahrgang, UM-W, 13.8; 4, Tanner Kelly, UM-W, 13.9.

Goat tying - 1, Kate Sharon, MSU, 18.2; 2, Jessica Picchietti, UM, 19.4; 3, (tie) Lexy Rianda, MSU, and Heather McRae, MSU, 20.1.

Barrel racing - 1, Annie Ouellette, Montana-Tech, 35.95; 2, Lexi Archibek, UM-W, 36.01; 3, Libby Taylor, UM, 36.04; 4, Kelsie McInerney, UM-W, 36.13.

Team roping - 1, Ty Erickson/Reid Edwards, MSU, 15.7; 2, Brent McInerney/Sid Sporer, UM-W, 16.6; 3, Ben Grann/Ben Ayre, Dawson, 20.0; 4, Jake Foulger/Pam Vanek, Northwest, 28.3.

Bull riding - 1, Cayd Kluesner, Northwest, 142; 2, (tie) Bobby Peters, MSU, and Troy Vernon, Northwest, 72.

Men's all-around - 1, Tyler Erickson, MSU, 290.

Women's all-around - 1, Hannah Sharon, UM-W, 140.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.