Subscribe for 17¢ / day
031217 Malatare

Arlee guard Phillip Malatare scored 24 points, one of three Warriors to hit the 20-point mark as they beat Manhattan Christian 71-67 on Saturday in Bozeman to win the State C boys' basketball championship.

Five Arlee athletes were named to their respective Class C all-state basketball teams -- three boys and two girls -- at the conclusion of highly successful basketball seasons earlier this month.

The State C champion Arlee Warriors were led all year by the three-pronged scoring attack of senior Tyler Tanner and juniors Phillip Malatare and Will Mesteth, and all three were rewarded with all-state recognition. The State C runner-up Arlee Scarlets put two on the all-state team in senior Carly Hergett and sophomore Alyssia Vanderburg.

Tanner and Malatare combined for 40 points per game for Arlee, which won its first state title in program history with a 71-67 victory over Manhattan Christian last weekend.

Malatare averaged 20.4 points, 7.0 rebounds, 6.1 assists and 5.8 steals on the season. Tanner was at 19.5 points and 6.4 rebounds while Mesteth added 14.1 points per game, according to the team's page.

On the girls' side, Vanderburg notched 15.4 points and 7.5 rebounds per game and Hergett added 11.3 and 5.2, respectively. The girls helped the Scarlets reach the State C title game for the first time since 1980. They fell there, though, to Belt's dynasty, 62-33.

The Seeley-Swan girls also drew a pair of all-state selections in seniors Alex Bohlman and Cera Strumpfer. Bohlman averaged 9.6 points per game while Strumpfer chipped in 7.0

Rounding out the girls' all-staters from the area were Clark Fork's Kenzie Mueller, Charlo's Cheyenne Nagy and St. Regis's Madison Hill. Mueller, a junior, averaged 12.9 points and 3.7 steals each game. Stats were unavailable for Nagy and Hill, both seniors.

Four other area boys were also named all-state representing four different schools. That included Darby's Zach McCrossin, Hot Springs' Trevor Paro and Plains' Ryan Ovitt, all seniors, along with Valley Christian sophomore Zach Baugher.

Statistics were unavailable for all four boys.

Seeley-Swan picked up a couple first-team nods in District 13-C in senior Brad Miller and junior Cameron Haines, and Lincoln and Clark Fork had one apiece in junior Payton Peterson and senior Nick Turnbull, respectively.

Charlo didn't have any all-state or first-team all-conference boys, but Tyson Petticrew and Landers Smith were named second-team all-District 14-C. Noxon had an honorable mention nod in Quincy Grupenhoff and Two Eagle River had two in Brendan McDonald and Chasen Curley.

On the girls' side, Plains picked up two first-team all-District 14-C selections in Lindsay Laws and Jessica Thompson. Kamber Torti represented Noxon on the second team and Karly Lawson was Hot Springs' second-team pick.

Seeley's Tessa Grimes, a senior, joined Strumpfer and Bohlman on the first-team all-District 13-C list among girls. Other first-teamers included Darby sophomore Casey Ehmann and Victor senior Payton Tillotson. Lincoln's top placer was junior Jerilyn Dietz on the second team.

The Drummond and Philipsburg girls each had one first-team selection from District 12-C, that being the Trojans' Morgan Radtke and the Prospectors' Jaden Comings. The schools' top honors in boys' hoops were on the second team where Drummond had one selection in Jonah Parke and the Pros' had another in Colton Grange.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.