Subscribe for 17¢ / day

BUTTE - Polson junior forward Louis Mohr was named the Most Valuable Player of the State A boys' basketball tournament this past weekend.

Mohr, who averaged 17.3 points per game at the three-day tourney, helped lead the Pirates into the State A championship game for the first time since 1998.

Laurel beat Polson 60-48 on Saturday for its first title since 1972.

The Locomotives David Swecker and Jake McKinney, both juniors, joined Mohr on the first team.

Butte Central's Jonathan Richards and Browning's Cody Edwards filled out the tournament team's first team picks.

Polson senior Tim Rausch was placed on the second team along with Columbia Falls junior Kaleb Johnson and sophomore Austin Barth, who helped lead the Wildcats to the third-place trophy.

All-tournament team

State A boys

First team - (MVP) Louis Mohr, Polson, 6-3, junior; David Swecker, Laurel, 6-3, junior; Jake McKinney, Laurel, 6-0, junior; Jonathan Richards, Butte Central, 6-2, junior; and Cody Edwards, Browning, 6-4, senior,

Second team - Sean Condon, Laurel, 6-2, senior; Austin Barth, Columbia Falls, 6-5, sophomore; Kaleb Johnson, Columbia Falls, 6-3, junior; Cole Cattelan, Billings Central, 6-1, senior; and Tim Rausch, Polson, 6-1, senior.

Honorable mention (listed alphabetically) - Kyle Bagnell, Polson; Riley Bradshaw, Corvallis; Connor Cunningham, Billings Central; Nick Emerson, Columbia Falls; Kyle Howell, Columbia Falls; Trevor Rehm, Dillon; Aschan Richards, Butte Central; Lyle St. Goddard, Browning; and Mitchell Wassam, Columbia Falls.


You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.