Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Three members of the state Class A champion Hamilton Broncs - including junior pitcher Melodee Mildenberger - were named to the first team of the Class A all-state softball team, which was released Thursday.

Eleven of the 15 players selected to the first team play for western Montana teams. Nine of those players were repeat first-team selections.

Mildenberger, selected to the first team as a utility player in 2002, pitched the Broncs to a 5-0 win over Billings Central in the state championship game last Saturday. Mildenberger compiled a 22-3 record with 264 strikeouts, 14 shutouts, five no-hitters and a 0.61 ERA. She also batted .354.

Junior catcher Vanessa Wood and senior infielder Jenna McCartney also represented the state champs on the first team. Both were first-team picks last season. Wood entered state with a .544 average with 11 doubles, two triples, a home run and 25 RBIs.

Polson, which won state titles in 2001 and 2002, placed four players on the first team: Senior pitcher Brigit Johnson, senior utility player Charmel Burke, sophomore outfielder Strohm Fouty and junior infielder Kdee Meidinger. All are making their second consecutive first-team appearances. Fouty batted team-best .455 during the regular season with 31 stolen bases. Johnson won 19 games on the mound.

Libby senior outfielder Danielle Armstrong and Logger senior outfielder Mandi Foss were also named to the first team for a second straight season. Foss was also an honorable mention pick in 2001.

Libby senior catcher Taryn Blaz was selected to the first team for the first time, as was Corvallis sophomore outfielder Jayme Champion.

Hamilton sophomore infielder Ashlee Eckhardt was named to the second team for the second straight season. She was joined on the second team by Ronan sophomore infielder Jamie Lake, Corvallis sophomore infielder Ali Messer and Corvallis sophomore utility player April Bruce.

Class A all-state softball

First Team


Chelsi Deidrich, Sr., Billings Central

Tanya Saatzer, Sr. Laurel

Danielle Armstrong, Sr. Libby

Kdee Meidinger, Jr. Polson

Jenna McCartney, Sr. Hamilton


Fray Bustos, Jr. Billings Central

Mandi Foss, Sr. Libby

Strohm Fouty, So. Polson

Jayme Champion, So. Corvallis


Vanessa Wood, Jr. Hamilton

Taryn Blaz, Sr. Libby


Melodee Mildenberger, Jr. Hamilton

Brigit Johnson, Sr. Polson

Utility players

Tiffany Saatzer, Sr. Laurel

Charmel Burke, Sr. Polson

Second team


Erin Butori, Jr. Butte Central

Ashlee Eckhardt, So. Hamilton

Jamie Lake, So. Ronan

Ali Messer, So. Corvallis


Karly Kambich, Sr. Butte Central

Kiley Myers, So. Laurel

Meghan Walsh, Jr. Butte Central


Megan McLeod, Jr. Laurel

Adrienne Dues, Jr. Belgrade


Leslie Dobson, Jr. Billings Central

Utility player

April Bruce, So. Corvallis

Kayla Webster, Fr. Billings Central

Honorable mention

Infielders - Brenna Manion, So, Butte Central; Jen Smith, So., Belgrade; Kelli Unrein, So., Glendive; Crystal Cornett, Sr., Polson.

Outfielders - Katie Boucher, Sr., Hamilton; Carrie Biolo, Jr., Whitefish; Shannon Anderson, Jr., Columbia Falls.

Catcher - Jordan Kambich, So, Butte Central.

Pitcher - Katie Strever, Fr., Laurel; Jodi Gillan, Jr., Libby.

Utility player - Rachelle Moeller, Sr., Libby.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.