Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Sports Briefs for Wednesday, July 17, 2002

Sports Briefs for Wednesday, July 17, 2002


Longtime voice of Bobcats resigns

BOZEMAN (AP) - Dean Alexander, the voice of the Bobcats for nearly three decades, has quit his job at KBOZ, the radio station that broadcasts Montana State football and men's basketball games.

Alexander, 60, is moving to Billings to be the director of sales for New Northwest Broadcasters, beginning Aug. 1.

"It's a great opportunity for me and it's with people I know," Alexander said Friday. "I didn't have any reason to leave (KBOZ), but this (job) is better."

Alexander began his career in Bozeman as a color commentator in 1973 and took over as play-by-play man in 1977.

Since 1973, he's been a part of 709 MSU men's basketball games and 268 football games.

"He's more knowledgeable about Bobcat athletics than any person around," said Bruce Parker, associate athletic director at MSU. "We rely a lot on Dean for history of MSU athletics and his credibility is unmatched. We put him in the (MSU athletics) Hall of Fame while he was still doing games. That doesn't happen very often."

Alexander was influential in helping build the Bobcat Sports Network, a group of 10 radio stations that broadcast MSU games.

"Ever since he started working in Bozeman, he's been such a professional. He's the best is what he is and although he's MSU's voice, he's not a homer," Parker said. "He brings Bobcat athletics to people across the state and he can never be replaced."

KBOZ and the school must agree on Alexander's replacement.

Huntsberger, Schildt honored by league

OGDEN, Utah (AP) - The Big Sky Conference announced its 2002 scholar-athlete award winners Monday.

Each school in the league had a male and female winner.

Montana's winners were football player Vince Huntsberger and basketball player Simarron Schildt, while Montana State's winners are track and field athlete Zach Jones and basketball player Jessica Blake.

To qualify, the student-athlete must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.2, be a member of the graduating class and/or have completed their last year of intercollegiate athletic eligibility. Winners also must have completed at least two years of competition at the school, and be a letter winner.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News